Home
Dice

Dungeons and Dragons

After 24 years of never intending to play Dungeons and Dragons, ever, I find myself sitting around a table littered with dice holding a D&D players handbook.

I’m currently in the process of setting up my character, an evil Elf Cleric. Before you judge me and my friends, dismissing us as greasy social outcasts drinking Mountain Dew and listening to Rush as we make obscure jokes about binary code, let me explain something. 10110011.

It’s too soon into the game to know whether or not I’ll enjoy it. In two four hour sittings, I’ve only been able to define my character’s race, class, alignment (religion), and some of her skill set. We’re all learning together. None of us had any idea the game would be so complex. There are so many levels of detail that goes in to creating a character. Debates have been sparked as we tried to translate what we just read in the handbook.

When my boyfriend first asked me if I wanted to play, I was really hesitant. I had a bad roleplaying game experience in the past, and I wasn’t sure I was ready to open myself up again. Some of my old college friends were into Vampire Masquerade. I didn’t know these friends very well, and as I watched them act out their character, frantically leaping around the room and using strange voices, I thought to myself: These people are fucking nuts. 

Zoiberg freaking out

Fucking nuts

My boyfriend assured me this would be different. A part of me would like to say he really twisted my arm, but he would combat that by saying, “Well you don’t have to play if you don’t want to.” The truth is, I want to. The part that frightens me is all of the rules. I have to actually read the handbook and take notes. My life is plenty busy enough with school, an internship, a part-time job, and a band. Now I have to stress about how many level 1 cleric spells I can cast a day.

I’m going to post my progress and experience. If there are any seasoned players out there reading this, any advice through this meticulous process would be appreciated. We’re playing the 3rd edition of the game. Last night I figured out my skills, their rank, and my feats. I also found out that as an evil Cleric and as a worshiper of Nerull, the neutral evil god of death, I’m encouraged to randomly murder. My party will love that.

Dungeons and Dragons Player's Handbook 3rd Edition

Dungeons and Dragons Player’s Handbook 3rd Edition

Leave a Reply

