Home

My band, Indefinite Dyad, found out that our show on Friday was a Halloween show. So at the very last minute, we scrambled to make costumes. The day of, I went to the thrift store and fond a nice Han Solo shirt and vest. I already had a pair of brown pants from last year’s (pour) attempt at a Han Solo costume, I just never took the time to get the yellow stripes down the side. This took me about 30 minutes to do.

What you’ll need:

– Yellow Ribbon
– A hot glue gun
– Brown pants
– Scissors
– A ruler

Step 1

Step 1

The first thing I did was cut an inch from the yellow ribbon. I then used that piece to measure out other pieces, holding it to the end of the ribbon and cutting in that way. I knew it wouldn’t turn out perfect, but it would work for my needs.

Step 2

Step 2

Next I hot glued them all down the seem of the pants. Don’t worry about the stringiness, you can clean that up once the glue dries. You don’t have to go all the way down the leg if you plan on wearing boots.

Do this to both sides and …

Done

Done

Ta Da! Han Solo Pantalones in just 30 minutes! The stripes stay on most of the night. But after moving gear around and playing our hearts out, I lost one or two. Make sure you get the glue on the back of the entire ribbon or else you’ll suffer the same fate I did!

Here’s how our supper last minute costumes turned out:

Kat as Obi Wan

Kat as Obi Wan

Katie as Leia

Katie as Leia

Me as Han Solo

Me as Han Solo

Leave a Reply

